GENDER

Gender is basically being male or female, the first instance that we meet for gender always is it at the gender reveal for the baby, is it a boy or a girl, and basically the segregation that occurs as per your gender. For the month of September, we shall have a look at gender in different areas of our lives.

You are either male or female

1. Society

Society at large has different ways of handling issues related to gender in various ways.

a.) Dress code
I remember when the campaign of #my dress my choice was quite eloquent when women were told to have decent clothes on in order to prevent the rape cases that were becoming rampant in the country then. To be frank, in such a case dress code has less to contribute towards it, decent or without decent clothing one may be a victim cause at the end of the day it’s not a matter of what you wear but it’s a matter of the level of self-control or the behavior of the person.

Earlier last week I was listening to some conversation on the radio where a lady called and said that women are to be blamed for promiscuity in people’s marriages because how a lady dresses will contribute to the attention she gets when she’s out there, but honestly speaking you can tell me not to wear a dress that is slightly below the knees just because the person will look at you. Why is it that there is a lot of responsibility when it comes to ladies’ dress code while the men are let to roam around with shirtless chests and sagged trousers?

b.) Courses

I remember just when I started university a while back and of course, people were asking me the course I was pursuing in varsity. Every time I mentioned my course, the response I got always took me by surprise, like really that’s what you thinkπŸ€”. They would always say, ” Unafanya Course ya Wanaume”( Are you pursuing a man’s course) This always left me wondering when we’re courses branded as male or female courses.

Even in the work fields, there are different types of treatments depending on the field you are in. Earlier this year as I was reading ‘hardball for women, one of the ladies mentioned that she was in a male-dominated field and was often segregated from her colleagues.

As a society, we should strive to eradicate all the gender biases that occur in our midst in order to create a society that is free from any gender issue #eradication of gender biases

9 responses to “GENDER”

  1. πŸ‘

    Like

  2. Women ndio huwa wanaonewa sana btw…..

    Like

    1. Aki πŸ˜”πŸ˜”πŸ˜”

      Like

  3. yes, these are just two of many ways the bias towards women exists in society. Keep exploring!

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading and yes I shall keep exploring

      Like

  4. Bare Chest and Sagged trousersπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    do women get tempted too…
    because I feel like they want to but strength ndio hakuna

    Disclaimer!!!
    I don’t support the notion that women should dress in a certain way
    Self control is mandatory in men…and women pia😌😌

    Like

    1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚now you know

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great article KavochiπŸ‡«πŸ‡·πŸ”₯

    Like

    1. Thanks Emmanuel 😏

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started